About Rural Development


The mandate of the Department of Rural Development (DRD) is to redress generation of the neglected of rural communities in the country in the following ways:

  • mobilize and empower the rural populace to create wealth through increased agriculture, industrial and other productive activities;
  • promote the expansion of the production base of the rural economy through the creation and expansion of agricultural enterprises;
  • provide rural support services needed to bring about increased production of goods and services and raise rural production in general; and
  • improve the productivity of human resources in the rural communities; develop the rural area and raise the quality of life of the rural dwellers.


The Department is structured as following

  1. Rural Infrastructure Division
  2. Rural Mobilization Division
  3. Non-Farm Employment Support Division
  4. Rural Finance Division

Policy & Databank Unit